connect to collect, thinking beyond the social shoebox


Fall. New beginnings. Embrace the unknown. Spring you’ll be much appreciated when its time to clean my fallout. I’m adding, collecting, hoarding ingredients for my stew. Bruised victims step right up, I won’t be sending any one of you down a short plank. One without the other weakens the mix. Thin’s not in that’s for sure. It’s time to harvest those connections, new and old. If someone hands you a business card, don’t use it to pick your teeth. I can’t tell you how many wasted hours I’ve spent searching for that one card only to find it folded over nesting my once chewed wad of gum. Trust me on this one, you just never know when you’ll need to call Jim the plumber who works Sundays. Collect and contain those contacts. Make sure they’re recorded and saved in some sort of digital format. I was once a fan of the shoebox filing system but that concept was thrown out long ago when my carefully labeled system a la Adidas boxes accidentally found themselves surfing down the garbage shoot to hell. It’s one thing to finally get the gumption to make that first step, grab that card, shake that hand and make that connection, now keep it. And not in boxes and tissues. Keep those connections and house them in all of the digital cabins you own.

One response to “connect to collect, thinking beyond the social shoebox

  1. This is really great. I currently don’t have anything other than a few phone numbers and emails. … I am huge fan for how you deliver and write. “social shoebox” is so smart.
    looking forward to your next post.

Leave a Reply

